About Us

Welcome to Scoil Mhuire, Borrisokane.

Scoil Mhuire was originally The Boys School, which was built in 1949. Following an amalgamation with the Convent National School, we opened our doors, as a co-educational school, to pupils for the first time in 1997. The school has an established and proud tradition of teaching and learning. It has been the starting point of education for many people in Borrisokane.

In Scoil Mhuire we aim to provide a happy, secure, caring and respectful atmosphere. We are a school which believes in the value of every child and adult who enters our doors. Our purpose is to know all our pupils well and focus on them as individuals. We intend that each child feels special and valued within themselves. We believe that positive educational experiences are central to a child’s learning journey throughout a holistic curriculum.

We praise and encourage each child to believe in their own ability to achieve. Hand in hand with their academic learning goes their Social Personal and Health Education and wellbeing. Your child’s happiness is central to the ethos of Scoil Mhuire Borrisokane. We can offer your child an exemplary positive start to the development of literacy, numeracy, Irish, geographical, historical, scientific, musical, dramatic, physical, religious, social, personal and health skills.

Scoil Mhuire is a Catholic school under the patronage of the Bishop of Killaloe, Fintan Monahan. We are an inclusive school, open to children of all faiths and none.

Our School Code

De réir a chéile a thógtar na caisleáin.

Mighty castles are built from tiny pebbles.

Our School Crest

Our school is representative of all aspects that we take pride in. It was derived from our pupils and chosen by our pupils. The key represents the knowledge and experiences all children will unlock while on their learning journey in Scoil Mhuire. It also represents the Diocese of Killaloe. The three children jumping represent the mindful, fun, active and involved learning style we promote in Scoil Mhuire for the teaching of all pupils. The hurley and ball represent the sport in our school and local community. The tree of knowledge represents the curricular and extra-curricular subjects taught to our children.



Please download the Enrolment Application and forward it to Scoil Mhuire, Borrisokane, Co. Tipperary or email it to borrisokanens@gmail.com



Príomhoide Sarah – PrincipalSET
Múinteoir Tomás (Clarke) – Deputy Principal 5th/6th Class
Múinteoir Lorraine (Flannery) – SENCoSET
Múinteoir Áine (O’Donnell)SET
Múinteoir Orla (Whelan)EAL
Múinteoir Helen (Kennedy)4th/5th Class
Múinteoir Nikki (Moten)2nd/3rd Class
Múinteoir Patrice (Murray)1st/Senior Infants
Múinteoir Denise (Shouldice)Junior Infants
Patricia McMahonSNA
Maureen HobbsSNA
John GriffinCaretaker/Cleaner
Aoife Gleeson RyanSecretary

Board of Management

The Board of Management upholds the ethos of the school spirit.
The members of the board are:

ChairpersonPaul Dooley
SecretarySarah Leahy
Treasurer/Teacher RepresentativeThomas Clarke
Parent RepresentativesJohn Kelly and Samantha McMahon
Community Representatives Geraldine Quigley and Sean Power
Patron RepresentativeTeresa Brennan